7 Ways To Avoid The Blind Home Inspector

Was Your Last Home Inspector Blind? Learn Seven Things You Must Know To Avoid Hiring The Wrong Home Inspector

avoid the blind home inspector(1) Get A Home Inspection From A Company That Has Been In Business For Many Years:

Nobody works harder for you than a company that has been established for many years!

The success of the business depends on exceeding your expectations for quality and professionalism each and every time and you just don’t get that level of service from “Newbie Inspection Companies”.

So be sure to get an inspection from Blackland Home Inspections – We have been in business since 2005 and have a continued vested interest in ensuring your total satisfaction!

All of our inspectors are full time inspectors and Blackland Home Inspections has completed thousands of  inspections since we started in 2005. We have developed the eyes, ears and nose for hunting down problems.

Part time home inspectors simply don’t have the time in the field to develop that radar. Be sure to ask how many inspections the inspection company conducts annually and how many years he/she has been doing them.

A quality full time home inspector conducts between 300 and 500 inspections annually – blind inspectors conduct 1 to 100 inspections annually.

Our individual inspectors complete 300 – 500 inspections each year. This requires extensive referrals by prior clients, lenders, real estate agents and others — so there is a much greater chance the inspector is not blind!

(2) Education & Training:

Being a contractor is very different from being a professional home inspector.

Home inspectors are responsible for evaluating all of the systems and components of the home – not just one aspect like the brick or the framing. To be able to provide a competent evaluation of all of these elements takes formal education and training.

Did the inspector attend one of the top home inspection schools? Or did he complete a correspondence course, or have his brother-in-law Bubba show him how to inspect?

Comprehensive continuing education and training is a must!

All of our inspectors have completed 16 hours of continuing education a year.

(3) Certifications:

While certifications are certainly important, it’s the combination of Experience, Education and Training that make the difference in the competency of your next home inspector.

Certifications let the world know that the inspector can pass a test, not that he can inspect a home properly. We all know people who are certified for one thing or another that we wouldn’t hire under any circumstances.

There is simply no substitute for experience and proper training.

(4) The Inspection Report:

The top home inspectors in today’s business don’t produce handwritten reports.

A professional inspector will provide a computerized narrative report with pictures. Technology has evolved where you should expect to receive a full-color report, with digital photographs of the issues discovered during the course of the inspection the same day as the inspection.

The report should not contain repair costs or action plans for repairs. Professional home inspectors inspect — they don’t repair! An inspector who makes repairs should always be avoided due to the conflict of interest inherent in that situation.

Ask for a sample of an inspection report so you’ll know what you can expect for your time and money. After all, you are the client!

(5) How Long Has The Inspection Company Been In Business:

There are many home inspection companies that are new and lacking the necessary experience for you to make an informed decision on purchasing your home.

If you are dealing with a multi-inspector firm, are their inspectors true employees or are they contractors? Does the inspection company have dedicated employees serving as customer service representatives to schedule appointments and provide any needed follow-up assistance or do you have to call “1-800-good-luck” to talk to a real person?

As stated before, we have been in business since 2005 years, we have extended hours to answer your questions, and we provide our clients with free phone consulting for as long as they own the home. Also, all of our inspectors are employees of Blackland Home Inspections and not private contractors.

(6) Ask To See What Other Home Buyers Have Said About The Inspector:

Quality professional home inspectors ask their clients to complete surveys upon completion of the inspection.

Professional inspectors want to know what they are doing right, as well as what might need improvement. If the inspector can’t or won’t provide client referrals, he might be blind in more ways than one!

(7) Ask Your Lender or Realtor For A Referral To A Quality Home Inspector:

The Realtor or lender’s sole interest in the transaction is seeing that you get a quality home that’s right for you and your family!

Blackland Home Inspections is the Texas Metro area’s most respected and trusted leader in home inspection services! You can be sure that our inspectors work exclusively for you. Our expert inspectors can make the buying process easier by arming you with the knowledge you need to make an informed decision!

Looking For A Quality And Good Home Inspection Services in Palmer, TX? Blackland Home Inspection Is Right At Your Service. Call Us At (972) 854-7328 Or Schedule Online Now!

Or Call

972-854-7328

Have a Question?

Send us an email through this form and we'll get back with you ASAP.

Our Facebook Reviews

Blackland Home Inspections, PLLC
5.0
powered by Facebook
Traci Lynn Benson
Traci Lynn Benson
2019-05-04T15:34:53+0000
I LOVE the detail and heart behind Blackland Home Inspections. Blackland is flexible in how my buyers and I communicate the need for an inspection and are always making themselves available to take care of our mutual clients. Plus, after the inspection, I and my buyers feel completely educated about the home being purchased. =) Happy realtor, happy clients = more happy realtors and more happy clients (aka homeowners)!!! Traci Lynn Benson 🤩read more
Aubrey Ferguson Hurst
Aubrey Ferguson Hurst
2019-03-27T15:06:57+0000
I have fallen in love with Blackland Home Inspections! They are my number 1 inspector! Not only did they go above and beyond for my first time home buyer but they took the time to explain to me some things in the inspection that I didn’t understand! They take care of there clients and the agents!read more
Jim Revill
Jim Revill
2019-03-22T14:26:20+0000
I was very impressed with Blackland from my initial phone call to secure their service through the inspection and inspector. Both were very professional, courteous and efficient.read more
Kelley Renae Palma
Kelley Renae Palma
2019-03-01T14:50:35+0000
Britney was very thorough and professional. Thanks Brad Withrow for the referral.
Steve Urnikis
Steve Urnikis
2018-07-31T15:23:19+0000
I have used Blackland several times and once again they did not disappoint. They are very thorough and make sure you know everything you need to know about your prospective house. I enjoyed meeting Brittany and was impressed by her knowledge.read more
Lauren Cook
Lauren Cook
2018-07-11T20:39:03+0000
Blackland is always my go to for home inspections, not only are they kind, but they are quick to get my clients scheduled. I love that they explain their reports in terms that everyone can understand. Choose Blackland, you won't be disappointed!read more
Mary E Hill
Mary E Hill
2018-06-26T13:04:28+0000
Clayton did an excellent job for us before we purchased our home!
Janet Johns Gummelt
Janet Johns Gummelt
2018-06-02T16:28:55+0000
Brittany does such a thorough job in the inspection and explanation to clients and me. Her approach is so professional; yet, the clients and I feel very comfortable asking for more explanation. Great job!read more
Kevin Ford
Kevin Ford
2018-05-15T16:46:38+0000
Blackland home inspections just did the inspection for our new home. They were on the ball on scheduling. Were on time, courteous, and very knowledgeable about every aspect of our new house. Would definitely recommend their services, and if I need home inspection in the future it is a no brainer who to call.read more
Jessi Daniels
Jessi Daniels
2018-04-25T16:50:14+0000
Julie was an absolute pleasure to speak with when setting up our appointment. When Clay came to the house for our inspection he was great at explaining what was going to happen and very accomodating with my small children. It was very easy to understand his report and recommendations for our house. I was amazed at his attention to detail all while entertaining and listening to my two year old talk at him �!read more
Christina Sanchez-Holden
Christina Sanchez-Holden
2018-04-17T19:16:30+0000
I set up our appointment with Julie who was friendly and professional; she explained the process, which put me at ease. Our inspector was Brittney G.;she was professional, very thorough and friendly. As I followed her, she took the time to answer all my questions. We reviewed her report together and she provided her professional opinion about the house we were buying. I left the inspection with a better understanding of the house we were purchasing, as well as, sense of comfort.I would highly recommend Blackland Home Inspections. Great customer service and genuine.read more
Vanessa Chang
Vanessa Chang
2018-03-22T16:08:30+0000
Very knowledgeable, personable and great customer service. As home buyers from out of state and new to the area, we were a little anxious of the inspection process and questionable on whether it would be done to our expectations. We never went through an inspection before as we only owned new construction. I called the office a few days prior to our inspection and Julie was very knowledgeable and patient in answering all of my questions very thoroughly. Our inspection was originally scheduled one day prior to us flying into Texas but Julie and Clay went above and beyond to rescheduling the inspection so that we could meet in person to go over the findings of the inspection. I was very impressed by this gesture and when we met Clay at the inspection, I was blown away by his expertise in the area and very much appreciated that he went over every little detail with me - good and bad (and answered about a billion question I had for him). In addition to the report, he also gave us tips on how we can continue to maintain the home and how to prevent future issues. I HIGHLY recommend Blackland Home Inspection!!!read more
Tanya Bradford-Jones
Tanya Bradford-Jones
2018-03-20T17:39:15+0000
very helpful and friendly check every thing and was on time
Sarah Manning Riffle
Sarah Manning Riffle
2018-02-22T18:30:10+0000
This is the SECOND time we've used Blackland because the first time was so amazing and eye opening. Our first house turned into a real disappointment, but without Blackland's knowledge and skills, we would have never known about the money pit we were about to purchase! We learned so much about what to look for when looking for homes to buy! Our second time using them was great! As homebuyers we were able to view homes and pick out potential problems before trying to put a contract on house because of how thorough Blackland Explained the inspection report during our first experience! The second time they were friendly and thorough again! They are very good at explaining the inspection report in terms a "non-inspector" can understand. WITH PICTURES! Anyways, we finally purchased our first home and a lot of that confidence to push forward came from our thorough inspection.read more
Chris Bennett
Chris Bennett
2018-02-02T15:52:38+0000
I want to take a moment and tell you why you should choose Blackland. From picking up the phone to ask them if they could inspect my wife’s and my first home to writing this review, every single step with them was absolutely wonderful. They explained the different packages with no pressure (You MUST take them up on septic inspection and carpenter ant inspection). They explained that they do a free concierge service that transfers all your utility providers FOR YOU! Water, electric, cable, you name it. They shop the lowest prices as well. I have zero affiliation with this company other than being a loyal customer from this point on. Blackland Home Inspections for the win!read more
Christina Arms
Christina Arms
2018-01-31T17:10:04+0000
This company is awesome! Everyone is extremely knowledgeable and very good at what they do. I would never use anyone else if you need an inspection!!!!!read more
Brian Little
Brian Little
2017-12-30T19:59:44+0000
Mai Pi
Mai Pi
2017-11-02T21:31:14+0000
I have used Blackland Home Inspectors twice now. I feel like I received a very thorough inspection both times. Clay and Brittany were both honest and well versed in their trade. I felt very comfortable in making a decision when purchasing my home. Julie was also so easy to work with and answer any questions on the phone. I would defiantly recommend this company.read more
Carol Wall
Carol Wall
2017-09-19T19:01:26+0000
Clay was knowledgeable, thorough and patient with all of our questions. Could not have asked for a better inspector. His office manager got our inspection arranged in a timely manner and was very helpful telling us what we needed to have ready. Overall a great experience for an inexperienced home buyer.read more
Troy Roberts
Troy Roberts
2017-09-19T14:17:19+0000
Kymberlee Milligan
Kymberlee Milligan
2017-04-13T19:52:20+0000
Highly recommended! We went under our option contract on a Tuesday with a holiday weekend approaching. Clayton was able to accommodate our inspection even though he was already booked. He offered to stay late to insure everything was properly inspected and boy was it! He is extremely thorough and did an outstanding job locating all repairs needed. My husband and I are first time home buyers and Clayton took his time explaining our end report and gave us advice on how to repair the small fixes ourselves. We cannot recommend Clayton and Blackland enough. Truly great inspection and good people! Will use again in the future.read more
Earl Butch Mahone
Earl Butch Mahone
2016-11-20T17:58:40+0000
Great doing business with Clayton. He is very thorough in everything and explains everything til you understand. Have done business with him several times and would not hesitate to call him again. Thanks Clayton...read more
Davi Bryce
Davi Bryce
2016-11-03T14:00:04+0000
Great job! Clayton was friendly, professional and thorough! So glad we chose Blackland...will definitely recommend to my friends & family.read more
Angela Metcalf
Angela Metcalf
2016-10-19T16:05:35+0000
Clayton was amazing to working with. Very thorough and complete. Took his time and looked at every detail! Loved how he explained everything to us in laymans terms. Wouldn't hesitate to refer him! Great inspection!read more
Amy Penny-Lowe
Amy Penny-Lowe
2016-07-29T21:13:00+0000
Blackland Home Inspections came recommended to my husband and I for the inspection on the home we were buying. Julie was very helpful in explaining the process and the different inspection services that Clayton offers as well as the price for each. To make a long story short, within a 2 month period we had Clayton inspect three different homes. In our experience working with Clayton on three properties, we found him to be extremely thorough in the inspections as well as very detailed in his reports and walked us through each report item by item. My husband was unable to be present at the time of the report but Clayton went over the report separately with him over the phone. The thoroughness of Clayton's inspections along with the detailed reports assisted my husband and I in making the best financially sound home buying decisions. We would highly recommend anyone purchasing a home to use Blackland Inspections and will be using them again in any future purchases. Jason and Amy Lowe Midlothian Texasread more
Renee Robak Murry
Renee Robak Murry
2016-05-21T14:57:49+0000
Very thorough and informative. He went over all findings at the home and showed us exactly what the problem was. He took time to answer all questions. Offered remedies to small problems found at the home. Very honest and trustworthy. We received our detailed report the same day via email.read more
Stacey Goodman
Stacey Goodman
2015-09-03T13:46:16+0000
I have known Clayton professionally for about 10 years.Clayton is very thorough and professional. An inspection report can be scary to some people. Clayton takes his time to explain all aspects of the inspection to the clients, helping to alleviate their fears.read more
Brian Keith
Brian Keith
2015-05-14T22:52:51+0000
Clayton has done several inspections for me and my clients. He is very thorough and quick to give you a report. I highly recommend him!read more
Next Reviews

Our Google Reviews

Cory Siegert
Cory Siegert
18:11 17 Apr 19
Very professional and accommodating company with regard to scheduling inspections on short notice. Brittany is a great inspector, who is very thorough and knowledgeable. We would definitely work with them again.
Rich n Sandy Leap
Rich n Sandy Leap
17:02 01 Apr 19
This is my second time using Blackland for a home inspection. Clay inspected the first home and was extremely thorough and very informative as to how to mitigate items that needed repair. Brittany performed the inspection on a second home. She was just as thorough and knowledgeable. Brittany went above and beyond pulling out a shovel and digging an area she had concerns of water leakage. I did not see the water on the surface but somehow she knew it was deep in the ground. I could not be more satisfied with both Clay and Brittany. Also, Julie who schedules the appt. is extremely nice. Excellent customer service all around.read more
Lacey Crim
Lacey Crim
17:58 13 Mar 19
Highly recommend!! They have wonderful customer service and very thorough with the inspection. We hired them for a new build for phase inspections. Clayton did a wonderful job explaining everything and making us feel like experts as well! Julie was always so sweet and made the scheduling very easy! They made us feel very confident during the whole building process!read more
Carly Drake
Carly Drake
11:07 17 Sep 18
Highly approve and appreciate my inspector. Professional, organized and informative. I watched her work on every detail for over 4 hours. Thank you and tell her I was impressed!
Dexter Riley
Dexter Riley
15:05 20 Aug 18
We feel very confident in the inspection performed by Brittany. She was very thorough and explained everything to us when completed. I would give your Company 5 stars for a job well done.
See All Reviews