Dallas Phase Inspections

Dallas phase inspections house under construction

 

Reasons why some home buyers aren't having their new construction homes inspected by a professional inspector:

  1. The buyer is getting a brand new home, and thinks that the inspection is an unnecessary added cost.
  2. The buyer feels that they are protected by the builder’s one-year warranty for workmanship, plus extended structural warranty.
  3. In many cases, the home is inspected by city inspectors as a part of the permitting process.
  4. Buyers believe that they can rely on the builder’s reputation.
  5. The builder is resistant to idea of third-party inspections.
  6. Buyers are not aware that a home inspection is a recommended alternative.
  7. The buyer plans to “keep an eye” on the construction.

Why new construction homes should be third party inspected, just like used homes:

  1. Cities/municipal governments do not guarantee a new home is built correctly, even though the city official inspected the home throughout the construction process.
  2. The very best builder is only as good as his/her worst contractor.
  3. There is not any government enforced inspection process for homes built outside the city limits, in the country.
  4. Code Violations – Not all builders build a home according to current building codes.
  5. Code Violations – Not all city building inspectors will thoroughly inspect the structures. Yes “Drive By” Inspections really do happen in the inspection industry.

A Business Relationship

The construction of a home is a big project involving many contractors and suppliers.

As the buyer and homeowner you are the financier and recipient of the final product. If you are like most people, this is your biggest investment.

Understandably, most people want to establish a good rapport with their builder. They must rely on the builder throughout the job, and for warranty and service work after completion. They feel that they need the builder’s friendship and good will, and do not want to risk damaging the relationship.

You will need to come to terms with this in your own mind.

Do not allow your anxiety about the construction process to obscure the fact that you have a business relationship with your builder. You are working together under a contract. It is possible to be cordial and respectful, while maintaining the right to bring up problems and concerns.

It is best to establish the ground rules for your relationship at the beginning of the project. At some point, you may need to tell the builder that something is not acceptable to you.

Schedule Inspections

Let the builder know at the outset that you will be getting third party phase inspections done throughout the building process.

You may hear (from the builder or others) that this is unnecessary, that city inspections will be done, that this is an unusual step, etc. Stand your ground on the inspection decision.

After you have let the builder know that you will be getting inspections, send an email or written note clarifying when your inspections will be done. Make it clear that you will need to have the utilities connected for your final inspection.

Allow enough time after the final inspection for corrections to be made before closing. Check with your inspector about which inspections he recommends. The three that come to mind are: foundation, pre-sheetrock, and final inspection.

Phase I: Pre-pour Foundation Inspection

In the Pre-Pour Foundation Inspection, the following systems are inspected prior to covering them with the concrete slab:

  • Beam Trenches
  • Rebar
  • Post Tension Cables
  • Vapor Barrier
  • Concrete Form Boards
  • Any Plumbing and Electric Components that will be covered by the concrete slab

Phase II: Pre-Sheetrock Framing and Rough-In Inspection

Framing and Rough-in Inspection will inspect the following systems prior to covering them with insulation and drywall:

  • Framing of Entire Structure – Interior/Exterior Walls and Roof
  • Electrical System – Wiring and Junction Boxes
  • Plumbing System – Supply and Drain Pipes, Shower Drain Pan
  • Mechanical HVAC System – HVAC Ducts, Dryer/Exhaust

Final Inspection

You will need to have all utilities on in order to complete this inspection.

  • Inspection follows TREC Standards of Practice – the same as any home inspection. The report is on the standard TREC report form.
  • Includes all systems found in the home – Structure, Electrical, Plumbing, HVAC, Built-in Appliances
  • May include – Sprinkler System, Septic System, or Other Optional Systems.

1-year Warranty Inspection

Most builders give a 1-year Warranty on new construction homes.  Between 10-11 months after closing, it is a good idea to have your home inspected regardless if you had it inspected prior to closing or if you opted not to have your new home inspected previously.  After living in the home for nearly a year, you are using almost every aspect of your new home.  It is recommended to have everything thoroughly inspected one last time before the 1-year builder’s warranty expires.

At some point you will sell your home, and your buyer will likely have your home inspected.

Some of the items the inspector catches now may seem minor, but they will come up later in your buyer’s home inspection if they are not corrected. It is in your best interest to have everything nailed down now.

If there are items that cannot be fixed before closing, and you cannot delay closing, ask the builder to sign a written list of items to be repaired or completed.

Building a new home can be an exciting and rewarding experience. A new home can deliver the right floor plan and finishes for you.

It is a complicated project and huge investment. The support, advice and information that you will gain from a third-party inspection is invaluable.

Do not leave out this important step in the building process. It is well worth the investment.

Give Blackland Home Inspections a call at 972-854-7328 today for your complete Dallas Phase to 1-Year Warranty Inspections. We will help protect you from buying The Money Pit!

Or Call

972-854-7328

Have a Question?

Send us an email through this form and we'll get back with you ASAP.

Our Facebook Reviews

Blackland Home Inspections, PLLC
5.0
Based on 26 reviews
powered by Facebook
Laura Nash
Laura Nash
2021-03-27T15:10:00+0000
Our realtor handled mostly all communications for us however they did call me to ensure I wanted to continue to... inspection and arrange payment details. Many payment options even conveniently online which made things so much easier for us. I didn’t catch the name of the man who did our inspection but he was very kind and very thorough. He made sure I understood all of what he was telling me through out the report. Helped us realize we were making a HUGE mistake. All in all Very fast friendly and efficient will definitely be using again.read more
Rebecca Jones
Rebecca Jones
2021-02-02T18:54:48+0000
Very professional. Second time have used. Highly recommend
Marissa Pimentel
Marissa Pimentel
2020-03-12T21:47:12+0000
Blackland Home Inspections is such a great company from the moment I spoke with Crystal to reviewing the inspection... with Brittany. You really get your money worth. Thank you all for the great experienceread more
Julie Gabriel Mounts
Julie Gabriel Mounts
2019-10-11T18:29:49+0000
Brittany did such a great job inspecting my brand new build. She found a few issues that need addressing. I am glad I... decided to do this on a new build. One item was a foundation issue that needs to be addressed sooner than later. They came out the next day and I had the report quickly. I am very satisfied with their inspection all together and would highly recommend them.read more
Jim Revill
Jim Revill
2019-03-22T14:26:20+0000
I was very impressed with Blackland from my initial phone call to secure their service through the inspection and... inspector. Both were very professional, courteous and efficient.read more
Lauren Cook
Lauren Cook
2018-07-11T20:39:03+0000
Blackland is always my go to for home inspections, not only are they kind, but they are quick to get my clients... scheduled. I love that they explain their reports in terms that everyone can understand. Choose Blackland, you won't be disappointed!read more
MaryandJerry Hill
MaryandJerry Hill
2018-06-26T13:04:28+0000
Clayton did an excellent job for us before we purchased our home!
Kevin Ford
Kevin Ford
2018-05-15T16:46:38+0000
Blackland home inspections just did the inspection for our new home. They were on the ball on scheduling. Were on... time, courteous, and very knowledgeable about every aspect of our new house. Would definitely recommend their services, and if I need home inspection in the future it is a no brainer who to call.read more
Jessi Daniels
Jessi Daniels
2018-04-25T16:50:14+0000
Julie was an absolute pleasure to speak with when setting up our appointment. When Clay came to the house for our... inspection he was great at explaining what was going to happen and very accomodating with my small children. It was very easy to understand his report and recommendations for our house. I was amazed at his attention to detail all while entertaining and listening to my two year old talk at him �!read more
Vanessa Chang
Vanessa Chang
2018-03-22T16:08:30+0000
Very knowledgeable, personable and great customer service. As home buyers from out of state and new to the area, we... were a little anxious of the inspection process and questionable on whether it would be done to our expectations. We never went through an inspection before as we only owned new construction. I called the office a few days prior to our inspection and Julie was very knowledgeable and patient in answering all of my questions very thoroughly. Our inspection was originally scheduled one day prior to us flying into Texas but Julie and Clay went above and beyond to rescheduling the inspection so that we could meet in person to go over the findings of the inspection. I was very impressed by this gesture and when we met Clay at the inspection, I was blown away by his expertise in the area and very much appreciated that he went over every little detail with me - good and bad (and answered about a billion question I had for him). In addition to the report, he also gave us tips on how we can continue to maintain the home and how to prevent future issues. I HIGHLY recommend Blackland Home Inspection!!!read more
Tanya Bradford-Jones
Tanya Bradford-Jones
2018-03-20T17:39:15+0000
very helpful and friendly check every thing and was on time
Sarah Manning Riffle
Sarah Manning Riffle
2018-02-22T18:30:10+0000
This is the SECOND time we've used Blackland because the first time was so amazing and eye opening. Our first house... turned into a real disappointment, but without Blackland's knowledge and skills, we would have never known about the money pit we were about to purchase! We learned so much about what to look for when looking for homes to buy! Our second time using them was great! As homebuyers we were able to view homes and pick out potential problems before trying to put a contract on house because of how thorough Blackland Explained the inspection report during our first experience! The second time they were friendly and thorough again! They are very good at explaining the inspection report in terms a "non-inspector" can understand. WITH PICTURES! Anyways, we finally purchased our first home and a lot of that confidence to push forward came from our thorough inspection.read more
Chris Bennett
Chris Bennett
2018-02-02T15:52:38+0000
I want to take a moment and tell you why you should choose Blackland. From picking up the phone to ask them if they... could inspect my wife’s and my first home to writing this review, every single step with them was absolutely wonderful. They explained the different packages with no pressure (You MUST take them up on septic inspection and carpenter ant inspection). They explained that they do a free concierge service that transfers all your utility providers FOR YOU! Water, electric, cable, you name it. They shop the lowest prices as well. I have zero affiliation with this company other than being a loyal customer from this point on. Blackland Home Inspections for the win!read more
Christina Arms
Christina Arms
2018-01-31T17:10:04+0000
This company is awesome! Everyone is extremely knowledgeable and very good at what they do. I would never use anyone... else if you need an inspection!!!!!read more
Brian Little
Brian Little
2017-12-30T19:59:44+0000
Kellye Weeks Koch
Kellye Weeks Koch
2017-11-02T21:31:14+0000
I have used Blackland Home Inspectors twice now. I feel like I received a very thorough inspection both times. Clay and... Brittany were both honest and well versed in their trade. I felt very comfortable in making a decision when purchasing my home. Julie was also so easy to work with and answer any questions on the phone. I would defiantly recommend this company.read more
Carol Wall
Carol Wall
2017-09-19T19:01:26+0000
Clay was knowledgeable, thorough and patient with all of our questions. Could not have asked for a better inspector.... His office manager got our inspection arranged in a timely manner and was very helpful telling us what we needed to have ready. Overall a great experience for an inexperienced home buyer.read more
Troy Roberts
Troy Roberts
2017-09-19T14:17:19+0000
Kymberlee Milligan
Kymberlee Milligan
2017-04-13T19:52:20+0000
Highly recommended! We went under our option contract on a Tuesday with a holiday weekend approaching. Clayton was able... to accommodate our inspection even though he was already booked. He offered to stay late to insure everything was properly inspected and boy was it! He is extremely thorough and did an outstanding job locating all repairs needed. My husband and I are first time home buyers and Clayton took his time explaining our end report and gave us advice on how to repair the small fixes ourselves. We cannot recommend Clayton and Blackland enough. Truly great inspection and good people! Will use again in the future.read more
Earl Butch Mahone
Earl Butch Mahone
2016-11-20T17:58:40+0000
Great doing business with Clayton. He is very thorough in everything and explains everything til you understand. Have... done business with him several times and would not hesitate to call him again. Thanks Clayton...read more
Davi Bryce
Davi Bryce
2016-11-03T14:00:04+0000
Great job! Clayton was friendly, professional and thorough! So glad we chose Blackland...will definitely recommend to... my friends & family.read more
Angela Metcalf
Angela Metcalf
2016-10-19T16:05:35+0000
Clayton was amazing to working with. Very thorough and complete. Took his time and looked at every detail! Loved how he... explained everything to us in laymans terms. Wouldn't hesitate to refer him! Great inspection!read more
Stephen McLaughlin
Stephen McLaughlin
2016-07-23T20:25:23+0000
Mr. Clayton was fantastic! He went into detail about everything including the soil our home is on, why it's relevant,... and how to maintain it. My wife and I could not be more satisfied! Than you again!read more
Renee Robak Murry
Renee Robak Murry
2016-05-21T14:57:49+0000
Very thorough and informative. He went over all findings at the home and showed us exactly what the problem was. He... took time to answer all questions. Offered remedies to small problems found at the home. Very honest and trustworthy. We received our detailed report the same day via email.read more
Stacey Goodman
Stacey Goodman
2015-09-03T13:46:16+0000
I have known Clayton professionally for about 10 years.Clayton is very thorough and professional. An inspection report... can be scary to some people. Clayton takes his time to explain all aspects of the inspection to the clients, helping to alleviate their fears.read more
Brian Keith
Brian Keith
2015-05-14T22:52:51+0000
Clayton has done several inspections for me and my clients. He is very thorough and quick to give you a report. I... highly recommend him!read more
Next Reviews